Yahoo Weather

You are here

Waukee lands seven on all-division first team

Waukee’s record-setting season resulted in seven players being named to the Class 4A All-Division 4 first team.

Warriors running back Trevor Allen and offensive lineman Ross Reynolds were named to the first team, joining defensive linemen A.J. Allen, Anthony Nelson and Nick Tweeten, linebacker Pat Gray and defensive back Matt Hoeg.

Trevor Allen recorded his second 1,000-yard rushing season in a row, finishing with 1,326 yards and 20 touchdowns while averaging 6.0 yards per carry, helped in large part by a stout offensive line anchored by Reynolds.

Gray led the Warriors with 68 tackles, while A.J. Allen (41 tackles, three solo sacks) Nelson (41 tackles, three solo sacks, four fumble recoverues) and Tweeten (31 tackles, five solo sacks, four fumble recoveries) shored up an impressive front line.Hoeg collected 27 tackles, and led all of Class 4A with nine interceptions, two of which he returned for touchdowns.

Seven more Waukee players were named to the second team. Quarterback Ben Ferkin threw for 1,413 yards and 14 touchdowns to just four interceptions. Michael Jacobson caught 12 passes for 310 yards and two touchdowns, and Jordan Graham and Chris Kickbush were named at offensive line.

Kicker Ike Bruns made 8-of-11 field-goal attempts with a long of 46 yards, and led all of Class 4A with 42 touchbacks. Linebacker Kyle Boulanger collected 56 tackles, eight of which were for a loss of yards, and Matt Corbett had 24 tackles and three interceptions.

Connor Wachter was named an honorable mention.

Waukee went 10-2, matching the school record for wins in a season, and won the division championship with a perfect 5-0 mark.

The Dallas County News website is available only to print and digital subscribers. If you are already a subscriber, you can access the website at no additional charge.